The Ides and vicinity

Shamrock ShakeTHE BLOG TURNS 2 today. I hesitate to make too much of it, since it seems like I’ve written a lot about the blog lately, and who wants to read a blog that’s only about itself? No, I just want to take a moment and say thank you. Thanks for coming by, for reading, and especially for giving me feedback. I love the conversations that I’ve had with you over the past 2 years, and I look forward to continuing them together.

The Ides of March is, apart from being a group that had one top-40 hit in 1970 and sounded a lot like Blood, Sweat & Tears, the day both Julius Caesar and my friend Marsha died, the latter in 2008. I said it 2 years ago, and I still think Marsha would have enjoyed the blog. She certainly would have enjoyed debating me on some of what I’ve written.

March 16, 2008, is cause for a happier reflection, the day I released an atypical, long Craigslist ad out into the world and made a connection so unexpectedly, magically great, it still brings me joy to think of it (and that we’re still connected is icing on the cake). That reminds me, I need to do a blog post on rejoicing. Don’t let me forget!

hot sex not right now craigslist adAnd then comes March 17. I know I’m always talking about how I love all holidays, but it occurred to me today, St. Patrick’s Day is pretty awful. I’m 3/8 Irish, I get to say that. I want to like it. Maybe there are ways to celebrate the day that have nothing to do with getting completely wasted and I just haven’t heard of them. (When I lived with my sister years ago, I’d use food coloring to dye the milk, orange juice, and water in the toilet bowl green, but I think that was just me. Does McDonald’s still do those Shamrock Shakes?) I would be happy to be corrected on this point. I’d prefer to rejoice in all holidays.

Leave a Reply

