Love is in the air

Love UnlimitedIT’S VALENTINE’S DAY AGAIN, and love is in the air. (Here, listen to Love’s Theme while you read this.) How great that there’s a holiday dedicated to love! I reread my V-Day post from last year and its follow-up post, doing that thing I can’t seem to get enough of — looking back a year to see where I was then as compared to now.

To the dismay of my single friends who couldn’t make it to last year’s Singles Awesomeness Day party, there was no such party this year. One reason is that my last year’s party co-host and ringleader is no longer single, so I’d be throwing this one on my own. A few other of last year’s guests are also not single now (though I can think of one or two friends who are single now and weren’t last year), so therefore ineligible to attend. And a couple of last year’s guests, including my personal favorite, are away. Frankly, I’m just not sure I could pull together the critical mass of awesomeness needed to equal last year’s experience.

But perhaps the main reason the party isn’t happening is that I’m no longer in the same place I was vis-à-vis my singlehood (nor is my roommate). I needed the party last year. It stood out to me as such an outstanding event not only because it was a lot of fun and the cupcakes were good, but also because it caused a real shift in my feeling about being single. I can honestly say it represented a turning point for me.

I’m happily single. Can you believe it? I might be happily coupled again someday. I might even be married (though I kind of doubt it). Or I might stay single, which would really and truly be all right. What has shifted? I am no longer grasping for love. There is a lot of love in my life, mind you, maybe more than ever before, and that includes all kinds of love, even super-hot-sexy love. I’ve found that it comes to you more easily when you stop trying so hard.grass_sexy_wide.jpg

So, this Valentine’s Day, there’s no need to feel sorry for the single. (I think most of you know that.) The majority of the single people I know are quite happy and loving and connected and sexy and fulfilled. Try not to envy us too much either, if you’re paired up. The grass is always greener, right? With regular watering, all of our grass can be green.

One thought on “Love is in the air

  1. Pingback: Free your voice | I can't believe Dave X Robb doesn't have a blog

Leave a Reply

