Hello, Marsha

I’ve been thinking of starting a blog since before blogs existed. I don’t claim to have invented the idea, but I really have thought about doing something like this in one form or another since early adulthood. I’ve also been thinking of starting a grilled cheese restaurant for about the same amount of time. A grilled cheese restaurant opened in San Francisco’s trendy South Park neighborhood a year or two ago, so I can give up being the first to do that. Damn.

I think too much. I still might open one some day. It won’t be the first, but it’ll be the best. Ask anyone! Meanwhile, here I am. Finally.

MarshaI wasn’t thinking of beginning a blog with a memorial to Marsha, but upon registering at this site, I discovered that I had been here once before to post a comment remembering her. As luck would have it, it was three years ago today that my ex–best friend Marsha Gonick left this world. She would have liked to see me writing a blog, I think, and would have had a lot of things to say.

She still pops up from time to time as “online” on yahoo, I don’t know why. I wrote to her once on there, a few months after she died, but she didn’t write back. Nonetheless, I expect she might make an appearance here if the spirit moves her, especially as talk turns to 70s music, politics, religion, sexism, sex, food, wine, grammar and spelling, movies, books, travel, or any number of other things that Marsha and I used to talk about for hours on end.

The last conversation we had was at the stroke of midnight New Year’s 2008, when we talked about growing old together and listening to 70s Motown soul together in the old folks home. Since Marsha and I had drifted apart a couple of years before that, I kind of doubted that it would actually happen. Still, it was a happy thought, and I hold on to it as a nice last memory of my friend.

7 thoughts on “Hello, Marsha

  1. Pingback: Jerri Blank meets the Go-Go’s | I can't believe Dave X Robb doesn't have a blog

  2. Pingback: November challenge | I can't believe Dave X Robb doesn't have a blog

  3. Pingback: 2011: Is that all there is? | I can't believe Dave X Robb doesn't have a blog

  4. Pingback: The Ides and vicinity | I can't believe Dave X Robb doesn't have a blog

  5. Pingback: My Writing Process | I can't believe Dave X Robb doesn't have a blog

Leave a Reply

